Tale of a three wheeler…

You know me as Rickshaw, aka a common non automatic three wheeler I am!  Rickshaw -wala is the person who pulls me around!

      I’m a usually very colorfully decorated and dressed up. It’s a very hard job, pulling around the city with two or three passenger plus getting bullied by other drivers / transports!

It’s a common transport and played a role in our traffic jam. I mean when I‘m in the main roads and avenues with mixed speed transport without any mirror to navigate.

Normally people from the countryside migrate to the capital city for better living and start out with this easy option.  

Here is my two little Rickshaws tales for you:

Uno: Once I was in a rickshaw & noticed the puller has only one hand & a leg! And the way he was doing it, only possible in circus or something like Guinness world record stuff!

I was astonished all the way to my journey and just couldn’t get off! After reaching my drop off point I fed him well in a restaurant and paid the fare with some extra cash. But the sadness still exists in me..

Dos: I got off from a rickshaw to buy a cigarette, while rickshaw waited for a minute or two. But couldn’t find that particular rickshaw when I came back as the traffic was in motion! The fare wasn’t much; less than fifty cents but it’s enough to buy a street meal.  I felt so terrible, so awful; that I kept looking for him in that road continually but no luck!! I shared the bitter phenomenon with few other rickshaw-wala but wasn’t helping much.

I couldn’t figure out how to repay that money! Not to some charity or to a beggar or such. I decided to pay that amount to s/he who really needs it the most. Since then I can’t tell you how many hundred times I paid that amount…….

Well, some time though I talk with them and listen to their stories behind this turn over. How desperate they’ve been through to come for this neglected job. Arrogant city people misbehave with them now & then.

I feel sick when Rich Daddy’s kids insult them or use slang as if it’s a completely normal thing to do, even with occasional slaps in their face! These things are outrageous and it’s pretty hard not to give those kids a blow myself & put them in the ground. But that’s not a long term solution, is it!? These same types of kids show humanity in the social media, say what!

Anyway, I was talking with a rickshaw-wala the other day in a tea stall. He used to be a fisherman in the sea and lived a colorful life.

His team used to chase company of fishes in the deep sea. Sometimes it took few days to a month to locate the schools of fish. Think of that rich, adventurous, free life he led! Now back in these metropolitan areas, taking direction orders from the jerks.

There are also seasonal people that come to this city for some extra income. Times they come are like: before festivals or national holidays. Because during those times, people do crazy shopping like it’s their last chance and pay better fare with tons of shopping bags to carry along.

As political strikes are a common thing over here, rickshaw is sometimes the only available transport to commute. Fare get’s higher with bargains and all you can see is rickshaws on the roads & avenues.

Rickshaw does have some other role in our mixed secular culture. People use it as wedding vehicle with some extra decoration,  you see young romantic talkative couples in rickshaw who rented for hours, thinkers in the rickshaw with burning cig, people trying to hide a smile with grocery bag with a fish tail hanging out,  people cover up their nose due to smell of sweat coming from rickshaw-wala and what not!!  It could be a documentary all together..

   

There are occasional fights between rikshawalas on the roads in the middle of traffic and you really have to disarm them otherwise it never ends but please don’t pick a side! End of the day they are two hard working, poorly paid and stressed out heads that lost the plot in traffic!

 

And please show respect to the elderly rickshaw-wala, they’re here not by their choices, you know! No one else available to look after them in this stage of life! He who wants to work when he’s meant to be retired & seating in his favorite corner of the room..hahs ??!

                         

Ohh and yes… when you drinking your favorite soda while you’re in rickshaw, please leave some for the rickshaw-wala. Please! Also when it’s really hot or rains, give him a chance to cover his head at the least, don’t you dare to not too!  

Treat all of them decently, despite their age or any discrimination like a proper human being; not like your personal wheel!

Sleep well fellow comrade..

     

Leave a Reply

